× About Policies / FAQ Categories Features Archives Sitely Portfolio
Advanced Search
<

cat icon

 Trouble from the Start by Rachel Hawthorne Author: Rachel Hawthorne
Published: April 28th 2015
Publisher: HarperTeen
Categories: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
External Links: Book DepositoryGoodreads

Summary:

Perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins, Lauren Barnholdt, and Susane Colasanti, Trouble from the Start is a sweet and romantic read about a good girl who falls for a bad boy.

Avery knows better than to fall for Fletcher, the local bad boy who can’t seem to outrun his reputation. Fletcher knows he shouldn’t bother with college-bound, daughter-of-a-cop Avery. But when their paths cross, neither can deny the spark. Are they willing to go against everything and let their hearts lead the way? Or are they just flirting with disaster?

A companion novel to Rachel Hawthorne’s paperback original The Boyfriend Project, this title is perfect for fans of summer beach reads and sweet treats

Review:

I think my options are too similar that I long for something fluffy to read. Behold, I actually have Rachel Hawthorne book tucked in my e-reader waiting to be read. There was never a time that I didn’t enjoy her books. They weren’t mind blowing in any way, but for some who occasionally likes to read light stuff, Trouble from the Start sure covered those aspects.

Ms. Hawthorne books have the right blend, far from perfect but her stories are neither too fluffy or too angsty. Just the right amount for me. In this case, our girl, Avery is our heroine who knows that guys like the main boy, Fletcher—the ‘I knew you were trouble when you walk in’—kind of guy is a trouble. And trouble does this boy have. And to make matters interesting, her father asked him to stay with them for time being while problems were being sorted.

It is something I haven’t read before, and neither are you if you’re the type who already read good girl + bad boy dynamic. There was nothing new yet the story was something I still managed to enjoy. Breezing through the pages while well aware of how things will turn out. Some minor stuff didn’t come as too certain. There were still bits and pieces about the story that were cute enough to help me ignore that tail signs of what this generic plot ought to be.

But what could those be? For one, Avery wasn’t easy. Easy in a way that she will agree as long as matters were convenient. That she wasn’t going in a relationship with half-hearted commitment. Honest as she was realistic. I really liked that about her. She was novice about relationship but smart enough to not to deter of wanting something that she knew she deserved. And then her parents, I liked that little tidbit about them paralleling what these two will eventually have. It was told in such nonchalant way but oh boy did that make me smile!

Fletcher was an ok guy with not so ok family problem; the very reason why he was temporarily residing with Avery’s family. The boy was very flawed, infuriating at times because he sometime used her too opportunely knowing what repercussion in store for her. But guy redeemed himself hence the romance happened. Isn’t what this kind of story aiming for? See, I told you, it was predictable but it was all still fun.

Rating: 
Format: Advance Reader’s Copy
Preview Quote: “No, stop twisting this around. I’m talking about people—guys especially—thinking that I don’t have enough respect for myself to believe I deserve better than some guy who is just passing by. It’s about respect. For me. For you, even. For a relationship. I want a guy to ask me out because he wants to get to know me. Because he likes me.”

2015 / 03 / 29

4 Responses to Trouble from the Start

  1. Kezia says:

    I tried Hawthorne werewolf series long time ago and sadly, I didn’t love it so I’m not exactly sure what to feel about this book. It sounds like a light, fluffy read though! Perfect if you’re looking for a mindless yet something entertaining. I guess there’s gonna be a lot of cliches in this book but glad that you still managed to enjoy it very much. But I see that you rated it 3 stars. I hope you’ll find something that blow your mind completely and light up your bookish soul again :)

    • Mitchii G. says:

      I haven’t tried any fantasy from this author, only her contemporary ones and I did like them. That mind blowing book has yet to come. *grows impatient*

  2. I’ve never read anything by Rachel Hawthorne, but I *have* been in a really romance-y mood lately! (As in, I’ve been having the urge to read more romance stuff — not that I’m feeling romantic or anything, LOL.) Totally blaming Akatsuki no Yona and Fruits Basket. xD

    It’s good that the author managed to make the book so enjoyable, though, despite the cliches and typical tropes. Nothing wrong with an occasional cheesy read, just as long as the cheese doesn’t go too overboard. Avery sounds like an interesting person, too. And so does the romance! Sometimes we just need those usual romances that make us smile in the end, right?

    Awesome review, Mitchii! <3

  3. Mitchii G. says:

    Shoujo manga tends to magnify that fluttery feelings and makes you desire for more! LOL :P

    Right, sometimes I just want to simply enjoy. It doesn’t have to be mind-blowing read every single moment. Books like this is good from time to time.

Comments are closed.

>
© 2017 Rainyink Studios. All Rights Reserved!
Connect:
| Design/Dev: Me!