× About Policies / FAQ Categories Features Archives Sitely Portfolio
Advanced Search
<

cat icon

 What I Thought Was True by Huntley FitzpatrickAuthor: Huntley Fitzpatrick
Published: April 15th 2014
Publisher: Dial Books for Young Readers
Categories: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
External Links: Book DepositoryGoodreads

Summary: From the author of My Life Next Door comes a swoony summertime romance full of expectation and regret, humor and hard questions.

Gwen Castle’s Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, is slumming it as a yard boy on her Nantucket-esque island this summer. He’s a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island’s summer people happy. Gwen worries a life of cleaning houses will be her fate too, but just when it looks like she’ll never escape her past—or the island—Gwen’s dad gives her some shocking advice. Sparks fly and secret histories unspool as Gwen spends a gorgeous, restless summer struggling to resolve what she thought was true—about the place she lives, the people she loves, and even herself—with what really is.

A magnetic, push-me-pull-me romance with depth, this is for fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Han, and Deb Caletti.

Review: I really loved Huntley Fitzpatrick’s My Life Next Door. So it was natural (and childish but I don’t care) to jump up and down with glee when I found out she has a new book coming out (although I’m more excited for The Boy Most Likely because of Tim. I loved that dude , flaws and all.) As I was saying, I was excited to read it so when I got a copy I wanted to dive in immediately. First chapter it didn’t grab me. Second chapter, it still didn’t. The third, I couldn’t get it together. In the end it wasn’t as good as her previous novel but it did have good moments.

The least person Gwen wanted to see was Cassidy Somers so it surprised her that he was in the same place doing errands for the summer. And no matter how much she avoided him, they always met. There was a reason why she stirred clear of him and this is one of the things that I wanted to know, apart from story(ies) unraveling in front of me.

It was obvious that Gwen didn’t want to be anywhere near Cass at first and that intrigued me. And while that’s one of the reasons that pushed me to read more, there were other things that were happening as of that moment. The story didn’t entirely focus on Gwen and Cass, there were other characters such as Nic (her cousin), Viv and Cass’s friend, Spencer who also had story of their own. In fact I actually more invested on them than I did with Gwen and Cass. Nic and Viv had been together for a long time but their future plans sort of drifted them apart. And what they thought was for keeps wasn’t easy to hold on to. Sometimes it’s easy to choose because you don’t know other options so when it was laid in front of them, the decision was now hard to make. And didn’t anticipate the effect of it to their relationship.

I liked that the story made Cass and Gwen’s romance not too sweet (but still is), puppy love kind of thing. There were lots of things hindering them: peer pressure, gossips, trust issues, the whole enchilada. So how they managed to cross those roadblocks is what I found the true gem of this story. It’s not always bed of roses; relationship takes a lot more than what we think for it to make it work. It’s a continuous effort.

And so while I didn’t fully enjoy it (probably because of my high expectations *kicks herself*) it still has the same essence as My Life Next Door. Real life issues that were pleasingly brought up. I think my problem was the main characters themselves but I did get attach to the side characters (like I did with Tim, so it’s not just one time thing, ha!). Anyways, I liked it and those who look forward to it will still be pleased on what they’re about to read.

Rating: 
Format: Advance Reader’s Copy
Preview Quote:  “Suddenly, you edge your way to the end of your second ten years and BOOM. Your choices matter. Not chocolate or vanilla, bridge or pier, Sandy Claw or Abenaki. It’s your whole life.” — Gwen

2014 / 04 / 02

2 Responses to Review: What I Thought Was True

  1. Shannelle C. says:

    I really want to read My Life Next Door. >< It sounds great, but sadly, I don't have the money to buy. I just skimmed this review, but I really want to read Huntley Fitzpatrick now.

Comments are closed.

>
© 2017 Rainyink Studios. All Rights Reserved!
Connect:
| Design/Dev: Me!